2022 Books for Latinx & Hispanic Heritage Month


September 15 to October 15 is Latinx & Hispanic Heritage Month. At Lee & Low Books, we have been celebrating Latinx & Hispanic culture through books all year long. We pride ourselves on publishing culturally and linguistically authentic books that all readers can enjoy. Check out ten titles we’ve published this year and peruse our book collections and resources for more titles in both English and Spanish!

Picture Books

Alicia and the Hurricane / Alicia y el huracán by Lesléa Newman, Illustrated by Elizabeth Erazo Baez

Bestselling author Lesléa Newman offers a tender and timely story of a Puerto Rican child facing a hurricane and her concern for the beloved coquíes of her home island.

La autora de bestsellers Lesléa Newman ofrece un tierno y oportuno cuento de una niña puertorriqueña que enfrenta un huracán y su preocupación por los amados coquíes de su isla natal.

Still Dreaming / Seguimos soñando by Claudia Guadalupe Martínez, Illustrated by Magdalena Mora

In the first children’s book to describe the long-forgotten chapter of US history known as Mexican Repatriation, a boy and his family leave their beloved home to avoid being separated by the government.

En el primer libro infantil que describe el capítulo olvidado de la historia de los Estados Unidos conocido como la Repatriación Mexicana, un niño y su familia dejan su amado hogar para evitar ser separados por el gobierno.

The Turquoise Room / El cuarto turquesa by Monica Brown, Illustrated by Adriana Garcia

Bestselling author Monica Brown takes us on a magical journey into the lives of generations of creative women in her family in this gorgeously illustrated bilingual picture book.

Monica Brown, exitosa autora, nos lleva a un viaje mágico en la vida de generaciones de mujeres creativas en su familia en este libro bilingüe bellamente ilustrado.

Vámonos: Mexican Folk Art Transport in English and Spanish by Cynthia Weill with artwork by Augustín Tinoco Cruz, Martín Melchor, Maximino Santiago, and Avelino Pérez

Young readers will enjoy this fun and vibrant bilingual introduction to different forms of transportation. This installment in author Cynthia Weill’s acclaimed Mexican Folk Art series is a colorful adventure in English and Spanish, illustrated with handmade painted sculptures.

Where Wonder Grows & Donde las maravillas crecen by Xelena González, Illustrated by Adriana Garcia

From the creators of the award-winning picture book All Around Us comes another lyrical intergenerational story exploring our connections to nature, family, and traditions.

De las creadoras del galardonado libro ilustrado All Around Us llega otra historia lírica intergeneracional que explora nuestra conexión con la naturaleza, la familia y las tradiciones.

Young Adult

Boys of the Beast by Monica Zepeda

Three cousins. Four days. One car. This smart and fearless road-trip novel is perfect for fans of Benjamin Alire Sáenz or Meg Medina.

Echoes of Grace by Guadalupe García McCall

In this triumphant new novel, Pura Belpré Award-winning author Guadalupe García McCall explores sisterhood, family secrets, intergenerational trauma, life, and love in a modern Gothic setting with a magical realist twist.

Adult

¡Ándale, Prieta! by Yasmín Ramírez

This beautifully open coming-of-age memoir by a Mexican American debut writer doubles as a love letter to the tough grandmother who raised her.

Nobody’s Pilgrims by Sergio Troncoso

No Country for Old Men meets Contagion in this story of three teenagers on the run, carrying a great menace, and chased by a greater evil.

When You Get to the Other Side by Mariana Osorio Gumá, Translated by Cecilia Weddell

A spellbinding novel about crossing both natural and supernatural borders—the mystical beauty of Rudolfo Anaya’s Bless Me, Ultima meets the urgency of Valeria Luiselli’s Lost Children Archives.

Book Collections and Resources
Authentic Spanish List
Spanish and Bilingual Books, PreK-Grade 2
Spanish and Bilingual Books for Grades 3-6
Spanish and Bilingual Books for Middle School
Latino Children’s Books
Recursos en español para educadores y familias
Pura Belpré Award Collection
Más Piñata English & Spanish Collection



Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.